dreaming

8 Dec

for so long i dreamed about having a baby. it took years. longer than some. and not as long as others. and my dream came true. my wish. my hope. my miracle. times two. i was more than lucky. or fortunate. i have been blessed. by whomever or whatever you might believe in. a year ago i was a week away from delivering babies. and now i sit here with my babies sleeping. and hook sleeping. after a night spent decorating the christmas tree. and attending to fussy little humans with colds who would rather play than sleep. and it is almost like i am living in another dream. one i was not sure would ever happen. i have children. three of them. amazing little humans who remind me every single day why it all matters. little people who cry and smile and laugh and talk and are needy and incredible. sometimes all at the same time. i often wake up in the morning after having some strange dreams. fleeting thoughts of the past. memories of people long gone. and oddly misplaced ideas of things perhaps that will come in the future. and then i look around and realize i am actually living the dream. chaos and snot and spit up and all. this is the dream. my dream. and it has come true.

2 Responses to “dreaming”

  1. bionicbrooklynite 6 FriUTC2011-12-09T09:05:47+00:00UTC12bUTCFri, 09 Dec 2011 09:05:47 +0000 2009 at 9:05 AM #

    So true. Just yesterday, exhausted on the subway, I caught myself thinking, as I have so, so, so many times, “I want a baby.”. And then I remembered that I have one, and all I had to do was stay on that train a little bit longer and I would have my wish. Amazing.

  2. Kristen 6 FriUTC2011-12-09T13:45:16+00:00UTC12bUTCFri, 09 Dec 2011 13:45:16 +0000 2009 at 1:45 PM #

    Way to make me cry, lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

