sure signs i am losing my mind

13 Dec

the past week or so i have felt kinda like i am losing it. is this different than other weeks? perhaps not but the proof seems more tangible right now. i opened a kitchen cabinet to discover that i had put a box of deodorant in there several days ago. i made the wigglers scrambled eggs for breakfast. m asked me where they were since i usually put them in the freezer to cool for a bit. we looked around – in the freezer, the refrigerator, the trash. i had put them in the microwave. i looked around frantically for a bottle of wine we had opened the day before. i finally located it in the recycling bin on the back porch where i had placed it earlier. still more than half full. i showed up for an appointment with my therapist with my shirt having only the top three buttons buttoned. (luckily i had a shirt on underneath.) i cracked an egg into a pan that wasn’t even on. these are the few things i can remember doing that have been a bit off. sleep deprivation? insanity? early onset alzheimer’s? or just life as a mother of twins and a seven ytear old?

2 Responses to “sure signs i am losing my mind”

  1. bionicbrooklynite 6 WedUTC2011-12-14T08:48:54+00:00UTC12bUTCWed, 14 Dec 2011 08:48:54 +0000 2009 at 8:48 AM #

    The other morning, with the bean finally down for his first nap, I grabbed some cold potatoes out of the fridge to eat. Then I decided I needed to take better care of myself than that, and take the 30 seconds to cut them up for hash browns. I put some oil in the pan to heat and puttered around. After a few minutes, I put the potatoes in. A few minutes later, I stirred them. A few minutes after that, I began to be surprised they weren’t browning yet. But it was still several minutes before I realized that while I’d turned the burner on, I’d never lit it.

    I did let the gas dissipate before starting over.

    • meridith 6 FriUTC2011-12-16T13:17:28+00:00UTC12bUTCFri, 16 Dec 2011 13:17:28 +0000 2009 at 1:17 PM #

      I left a whole pot of cider on to simmer. Simmer until there was nothing but a crust in the pan, apparently. Obviously, I’ve taken a mental staycation.

Leave a Reply

